The Hold Steady

I could easily count on two hands, maybe one, the bands/artists I’m vehemently passionate about. I assume the same of you. Maybe three hands.

Anyway, I added one to my short-list last week.

The Hold Steady.

Since October 2008, this website called Lala.com has been invited in to every possible corner of my life. Accompanying me at work, at home, on the road, you get the idea. Following obviously implied recommendation, I could not speak higher of the service. It’s free. My entire library of music lives in the cloud, meaning it’s with me wherever I go. You can listen to anything in their library (a lot of stuff) one time through, for free. For $0.10 you can add a song to your streaming library.

That little company called Apple must be a fan too. They purchased Lala for some $85 million in December 2009.

During some non-descript day, whilst non-descript activity, Lala cued up some The Hold Steady for me to check out.

Good idea, Lala.

The initial moment was hearing the line…

And the Meat Loaf to the Billy Joel

Certain songs they get so scratched into our souls

From The Hold Steady’s “Certain Songs.”

As I listened, and listened, and am listening right now, I’m amazed by how the music and lyrics of this band get straight to my heart, mind, history, identity, et al.

Unfortunately, they have zero tour dates scheduled right now. But as soon as I can, I will be going to see them, and telling everyone I know in the process. I will likely purchase all of their albums in the coming weeks, plus a t-shirt.

Maybe not for you, but that’s not the point here. There’s really no grand point, or intellectual stimulation being conveyed. I’m just excited to have found one of those few sparks in life that I know will not go out.

4 thoughts on “The Hold Steady

  1. The Hold Steady are very good. One of my students introduced me to them a while back.

    And lala.com is such a great site. I’m worried about what Apple will do with it. Any ideas what they’re planning for it?

  2. Thanks for the article. It would be a real shame if iTunes shuts it down — surely companies understand that sites like this can actually help them sell more albums. Surely.

    Things out here are disgustingly warm and sunny, just the way we like it.

  3. Pingback: Critics « Clore Chronicles

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

