Rolling Stone and Stanley McChrystal

I have been fascinated by this Stanley McChrystal / Rolling Stone story since I first heard about it last week.

Rolling Stone is a magazine I have subscribed to for 10 years. I have tremendous respect for it, but have nearly cancelled on numerous occasions. Whether I agree(d) with the information or not, the political presentation style has worn me out. I now skip all political stories inside its pages, having lost interest in reading such extremely slanted stories. I’d just read the music/entertainment news and figured everyone else was doing the same.

Then the counterculture institution that is Rolling Stone went and took down one of the most powerful men in the United States military. Unbelievable! And that means that I just purposefully read my first political story in Rolling Stone in many months.

Maybe I’m from a different generation, but I don’t see what the big deal about the story is in terms of the guy losing his job. I’ve studied enough about the corrupt actions of guys on this level and rarely are gigs lost after stupid decisions are made and dumb things are said. Regardless, it’s great to know someone is paying attention. It’s even better to know that a magazine like Rolling Stone has the capacity to get the nation’s attention.

If you haven’t read the article, I’d recommend it. If anything, it will certainly be remembered as a significant moment in American popular culture. (RS 1108/1109; July 8-22, 2010)

I’ve read online where some have posed questions such as, “Remember when Rolling Stone was a music magazine?” This is an uninformed question. Politics have always been part of the publication. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame member and Rolling Stone founder, editor and publisher Jann S. Wenner shared in the very first issue, dated November 9, 1967, that Rolling Stone was not just about music “but also about the things and attitudes that the music embraces.”

At a moment in time when our media is almost too fractured to impact anything, it is nice to see that one of the original counterculture publications is being heard, 42 years on.

One thought on “Rolling Stone and Stanley McChrystal

  1. I’m with you on RS’s politics. It gets annoying after a while (even though I tend to agree with them….I almost always hate the presentation.) It’s interesting that….well, it’s been a while since people thought Rock ‘n’ Roll could change the world.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

