Elton John

Elton John is timely to me right now because I am going to see him tomorrow night for the seventh time, in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Communicating my excitement to you is nearly impossible. No artists mean more to me personally than Billy Joel and Elton John. I first saw them, together, on August 9, 1994 at Busch Stadium (II) in St. Louis. I will never forget that night, and sixteen years later, my passion for the music has only grown.

In a 1973 documentary by Bryan Forbes called Say Goodbye Norma Jean, And Other Things, Elton shared:

I always knew I’d be famous one day, I was just convinced…I’m only 26 and I think that really my best work is of course to come. I don’t think I’ve matured enough yet to have written anything great. I’ve written about two or three potentially standard, great songs, which, you know, it’s a bit boring to say standard, but I mean songs that will get recorded for quite a long time. [Interviewer Bryan Forbes ask: which do you think they are?] Uhhh, “Your Song,” and probably “Daniel.”

Who says that? Who can say that?

Well, nearly forty years later, I don’t think anyone is going to argue with him. And most remarkable, I doubt anyone would have argued with him in 1973.

If you are remotely a fan of early Elton John music, I highly recommend checking out Elton’s new album with Leon Russell, The Union. It is easily one of my favorite new albums of 2010.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

