Elton John & Leon Russell: November 19, 2010

I had the privilege of seeing Elton John & Leon Russell in concert this past Friday, November 19, 2010 at Chattanooga’s McKenzie Arena. The show was absolutely magical.

The show got underway as the arena suddenly went to black around 8:15 PM ET. Elton came out and explained the flow of the show: Leon would perform first, then Elton, then together, then Elton again. Leon entered from stage left and played an amazing 5-song set (full set list below), followed by 7 from Elton, 12 together off their new album, The Union, then 10 more by Elton.

Outside of Elton performing four of my all-time favorite songs, “Your Song,” “Burn Down the Mission,” “Levon” and “Tiny Dancer,” I was most impacted by the love and admiration Elton has for Leon. Elton went on and on about the impact Leon had, and is once again having, on his life. It was very encouraging and refreshing to hear one extremely well-known legend laud his highest praises on a legend that deserves more of the spotlight.

Check out the following video to hear Elton talk about Leon:

The following is the set list from the Elton John & Leon Russell Show at Chattanooga’s McKenzie Arena on Friday, November 19, 2010:

  1. Tightrope 
  2. Prince of Peace / Out in the Woods
  3. A Song For You
  4. Delta Lady
  5. Roll in My Sweet Baby’s Arms / Stranger In A Strange Land
  6. Saturday Night’s Alright For Fighting
  7. Philadelphia Freedom
  8. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
  9. Rocket Man
  10. Don’t Let the Sun Go Down On Me
  11. Bennie and the Jets
  12. I’m Still Standing
  13. If It Wasn’t For Bad
  14. Hey Ahab
  15. Gone To Shiloh
  16. Jimmie Rodgers’ Dream
  17. There’s No Tomorrow
  18. Monkey Suit
  19. The Best Part of the Day
  20. A Dream Come True
  21. When Love Is Dying
  22. Hearts Have Turned To Stone
  23. Never Too Old (To Hold Somebody)
  24. In The Hands of Angels
  25. Burn Down the Mission
  26. Levon
  27. Tiny Dancer
  28. I Guess That’s Why They Call It The Blues
  29. Daniel
  30. Candle In the Wind
  31. Take Me To the Pilot
  32. Sad Songs (Say So Much)
  33. The Bitch Is Back
  34. Your Song

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: