My Favorite Songs, Artists & Albums

I love asking people about their favorites, in anything, but especially music. Plenty don’t have a favorite, or at least have never considered the question. Personally, I enjoy attempting to keep a running-list in my head. Some selections change over time, some only get stronger.

As of the end of 2010, here are a few of my top tens in various music categories.

TOP 10 ALL-TIME FAVORITE SONGS:

  1. Piano Man – Billy Joel
  2. Round Here – Counting Crows
  3. Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing – written by Robert Robinson
  4. Your Song – Elton John
  5. November Rain – Guns N’ Roses
  6. Worlds Apart – Jars of Clay
  7. With Or Without You – U2
  8. Under the Bridge – Red Hot Chili Peppers
  9. Everlong – Foo Fighters
  10. Chicago Seemed Tired Last Night (from the Live at Lollapalooza 2006: The Hold Steady album) – The Hold Steady

TOP 10 ALL-TIME FAVORITE ARTISTS:

  1. Billy Joel
  2. Elton John
  3. Counting Crows
  4. The Hold Steady
  5. Metallica
  6. Guns N’ Roses
  7. Ben Folds
  8. The Normals / Andrew Osenga
  9. Rich Mullins
  10. Foo Fighters

TOP 10 ALL-TIME FAVORITE ALBUMS:

  1. The Stranger – Billy Joel
  2. August and Everything After – Counting Crows
  3. Stay Positive – The Hold Steady
  4. S&M – Metallica
  5. Appetite For Destruction – Guns N’ Roses
  6. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road – Elton John
  7. Recovering The Satellites – Counting Crows
  8. Ten – Pearl Jam
  9. Abbey Road – The Beatles
  10. Dark Side Of The Moon – Pink Floyd

What are yours?

6 thoughts on “My Favorite Songs, Artists & Albums

  1. These are some great picks, John! I was honestly a bit surprised by the GNR, but I shouldn’t have been. One can’t grow up when we grew up, be as musically talented as you are, and not count GNR as an influence. They were my favorite band from the time I was 11 up till my adulthood. And although I don’t listen to them as much now, I will never forget them. Personally my favorite of their albums is Use Your Illusion II. I love the lists you posted, very timeless and impacting!

  2. Here is my list for artists: All-time and Current, in no particular order and the list is ever-changing

    All-Time
    Widespread Panic
    Uncle Tupelo
    Grateful Dead
    Van Halen
    Outkast

    Current:
    MGMT
    Pheonix
    Drive By Truckers
    Yonder Mountain String Band
    Mumford & Sons
    Maino

    • Awesome man. Thanks so much for sharing that. I’m going to have to check out Maino, and I could afford to learn more about Yonder Mountain String Band. Also, I seem to be developing an affinity for “jam bands” the older I get, which is interesting. Ten years ago, I wouldn’t have even considered it.

      Thanks for reading man. It means a lot.

      Clore

  3. Always good to read your thoughts on music. You taught me so much about it back in the day.

    My Top 10 Favorite Artists:

    01. Starflyer 59
    02. Jimmy Eat World
    03. Showbread
    04. Bleach
    05. U2
    06. Project 86
    07. Thrice
    08. Staind
    09. Johnny Cash
    10. Blindside

    Top 10 Favorite Albums

    01. Jimmy Eat World: Bleed American
    02. Dead Poetic: Vices
    03. The Smashing Pumpkins: Mellon Collie & the Infinite Sadness
    04. Project 86: Songs to Burn Your Bridges By
    05. The Classic Crime: The Silver Chord
    06. Bush: Sixteen Stone
    07. Starflyer 59: Talking Voice vs. Singing Voice
    08. U2: The Joshua Tree
    09. Anberlin: Cities
    10. Thrice: The Alchemy Index Vol. 1-4

    • Dude! Thanks so much. That means a lot to me. I would not have thought that to be the case. Thanks man.

      And I appreciate you sharing your lists on here. It’s always good to hear what others love.

      I hope to see you again soon,

      John Clore

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

