Hurt, a song to live by

As I progress in writing my first book, I am intrigued by the way my thoughts and ideas evolve and formulate. I’ve had the core idea for the book for a while now, but it has been very hard to explain at times. I know people have been confused by prior explanations, as have I.

Now that I have the title, The Music Industry Doesn’t Have To Kill You, it is really beginning to come together. I am not finished yet, but it feels so much better than it did even 3 or 4 months ago.

Just now, I decided to watch Johnny Cash’s music video for “Hurt,” because it truly is one of my favorite songs and music videos, but more so because it is such a strong reminder of what it’s all about. As I was watching, I realized that’s it; that is what my book is all about. Cash sings Trent Reznor’s words at the end:

And you could have it all, my empire of dirt

I will let you down, I will make you hurt

If I could start again, a million miles away

I would keep myself, I would find a way

I can distinctly say to you that this song and music video deeply impacted my soul when I first experienced it in 2003. That actually was probably the beginning of me realizing just how passionate I was about the deeper impact of music, on all of us, but especially those who live life in or around the music industry.

Cash didn’t write the lyrics, but Trent Reznor did, and he was writing about the evils of a terrible substance called heroin.

If I could start again…I would keep myself

Think about that. Reznor, Cash, both men with real life, hardcore experience and subsequent wisdom. If I could start again…I would keep myself. There is a huge lesson in that line.

I’m not saying do or don’t do certain things, just use your brain. Learn from those that have made stupid decisions in the past, and do your best to make better decisions, for your own sake, your family, and all of those around you. Yes, live life. Have fun. Do fun things that will provide countless memories to relive with those near you, just consider the bigger picture. We’re all dealt a different hand, some far better than others, I get that. All you can do is strive to handle yourself in the best possible manner, no matter your upbringing or realities of your today.

The music industry doesn’t have to kill you. That’s what I want to communicate now, and for the rest of my life. I’m so deeply committed to, and passionate about this crazy industry of music and entertainment, and I want to do my part to encourage those around me to see the positive, the good, and to work to push away the dark side, the negativity, that so quickly destroys.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

